The Special Interest Groups (SIGs) and the Regions are the lifeblood of NYS TESOL. Together, these subdivisions provide the means to ensure greater participation of individual membership in our professional organization.

NYS TESOL recognizes the division of the State membership into geographic regions, decided upon by the Executive Board. We recognize six regions:

  • Buffalo
    Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara, and Wyoming counties

  • Capital District
    Albany, Clinton, Columbia, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Otsego, Rensselar, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Warren and Washington counties
  • Hudson Valley
    Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivam Ulster, and Westchester counties
  • Long Island
    Nassau and Suffolk counties
  • New York City
    The five boroughs: Brooklyn, The Bronx, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island
  • Rochester/Syracuse
    Broome, Cayuga, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Genesee, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins, Wayne and Yates counties

Goals of the Regions

As microcosms of NYS TESOL, the Regions adhere to the goals of the association as identified in the NYS TESOL Constitution:

  1. To encourage professional development, participation and leadership;
  2. To provide opportunity for study and research;
  3. To disseminate information relevant to the organization;
  4. To work cooperatively toward the improvement of instruction in all programs which seek to provide students with an opportunity to acquire English language skills and proficiency, whether they can be carried out in monolingual or bilingual modes of instruction;
  5. To promote empathy and respect for the native culture and language of all students of English, whether they are learning in a bilingual or monolingual context.