2017 ALWC logo

38th Annual NYS TESOL

Applied Linguistics Winter Conference
our hashtag this year: #ALWC17

Saturday April 1, 2017
8:00am-5:00pm
Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY


2017 ALWC Keynote Speaker: Dr. Sarah Creider
Dr. Sarah Creider
Sarah Creider is a Visiting Assistant Professor of Multilingual Multicultural Studies at New York University. She received an EdD in Applied Linguistics from Teachers College, Columbia University, and has taught in the TESOL and Applied Linguistics programs at Teachers College and at Hunter College. An applied linguist, Sarah uses conversation analysis to discover concrete methods for bringing student voices into the classroom. In particular, she is interested in sequential and simultaneous analyses of talk, gesture, body position, and objects in educational environments. Most recently, she has looked at how entrenched patterns of teacher-student interaction can shift when teachers avoid asking questions. She also specializes in second-language pedagogy for adult students with limited first language literacy. Her work has been published in the Journal of Contemporary Foreign Language Studies; Learning, Culture, & Social Interaction; Discourse Studies; Language and Information Society; the Journal of Applied Linguistics and Professional Practice; and Working Papers in TESOL & Applied Linguistics. She was co-chair of the first and fourth annual meetings of the Language and Social Interaction Working Group (LANSI) at Teaches College, Columbia University.

Pre-register now for the 2017 ALWC at http://www.tinyurl.com/2017-ALWC-pre-reg

Deadline for pre-registration is March  18, 2017.

Prices:


Pre-registration

On-site

Members

$25 (with ID, students)

$30 (with ID, students)

$35 (individual)

$40 (individual)

Nonmembers

$30 (with ID, students)

$35 (with ID, students)

$40 (individual)

$50 (individual)

 


The 2017 ALWC will be held at Borough of Manhattan Community College, CUNY on Saturday April 1, 2017



Contact the 2017 ALWC Volunteer Chair for more info: volunteer@alwc.nystesol.org

Pricing for Student Volunteers (working for at least 2 hours)

Student member: $15
Non member: $25

2017 ALWC Planning Team (in alphabetical order)

Business Manager & Liaison to Teachers College
Cynthia Wiseman
Businessmanager@nystesol.org


Conference Co-Chairs
Wen (Elyssa) Sun & Rachel Wang
Conference_Chairs@alwc.nystesol.org

Operations and Refreshments Chair
Daniel Eskin
Operations@alwc.nystesol.org

Program Book Editor
Kam Cheong (Jason) Chiu
ProgramBook@alwc.nystesol.org

Proposal Co-Chairs
Wen (Elyssa) Sun, Daniel Eskin, Kimberly Kim, & Kam Cheong (Jason) Chiu
Proposals@alwc.nystesol.org

Publicity Co-Chairs and Publishers Liaison
Katherine Morgenegg & Cho Hang (Jessica) Lei
Publicity@alwc.nystesol.org

Registration Co-Chairs
Kimberly Kim & Clara Basyurt
Registration@alwc.nystesol.org

Social Media Chair
Derek Baylor
SocialMedia@alwc.nystesol.org

Technical Support
Mark Aaron Polger
Techsupport@nystesol.org

Volunteer Co-Chairs
YuNong (Cameron) Li & SueMin Park
Volunteer@alwc.nystesol.org



Our hashtag for the conference this year is #ALWC17

Social Media Linked InInstagram